Priyanka Nag

Wp 000041


I am a student perusing my post-graduation in Computer Applications from Symbiosis Institute of Computer Studies and Research, Pune. Previously I had done my Bachelors in Computer Applications from the same college.

Am a supporter of FOSS and presently involved with a few Open Source Communities as well like Mozilla and Wikipedia. I am presently a Mozilla Representative. Am a developer, but also do a lot of documentation work and also a lot of localization as hobby and passion.

I am presently an intern under the banner of Wikimedia Foundation.

I am a developer in the Software Research and Development cell of SICSR.

A developer by profession and a content writer by passion. Technical writings, blogging etc are stuff that I do as hobby.

Proposals for this user

* Getting more women to be a part of FOSS

The FOSS statistic of male vs female contributors is really shocking and for absolutely no definite reason should this be so. Wouldn't it be fair for all and a great thing to happen if the ratio could be brought close to 50-50? Why so less number of female contributors in FOSS? What are they scared about?
Culture 2013-01-20 07:12:07 +0000
Priyanka Nag

* My experience of Working with Wikimedia Foundation

I am an intern of OPW, doing my internship under Wikimedia Foundation. My talk will be about the work I have been doing as an intern in Wikimedia which is not only interesting and challenging in itself, but could also help other people understand what is there that can be done to make all the Wikipedias more user-friendly for developers as well as editors.
Cooking 2013-03-08 19:13:30 +0000
Priyanka Nag